Do You Get Nervous?

15 May

I still get nervous before I speak! It’s been four years, and I can’t eat hours before, and I always feel like I have to use the bathroom before I speak. (I don’t usually, but I feel like I do) Here is what gets me through the nervousness and into the zone.  Moments before I speak, I take a moment and pray. I ask God to use me, that the words be His, not mine. It always seems to help.

Do you get nervous, and what do you do about it?

2 Responses to “Do You Get Nervous?”

  1. altonwoods May 15, 2010 at 4:37 PM #

    I prepare. I’m sort of a scripted person, it helps to anticipate peoples questions and have a thought out answer ready to give them.

    I don’t really have any experience in front of crowds, the thought of that sounds terrifying and exciting at the same time.

    Understanding that it’s God’s words is the right way to take the pressure off!

    My Aunt Lives in Tucson! Take Care!

  2. Carol May 15, 2010 at 4:58 PM #

    Praying first is always the best–and bullet prayers in the middle, too! When I spoke in Rwanda there were the pauses between my words and the translation which gave me time to continually ask for His help. Also, asking others to pray for you. You can ‘feel’ it 🙂

Leave a Reply

