Cleaning House on Facebook

5 Apr

Tonight I cleaned out my friends list by about 300 people. I never add people I don’t know, but I felt like I needed to keep only those that I had some sort of relationship with. It’s kind of like when you watch one of those home shows, and they are trying to decide what to keep, what to sell, and what to throw away. The same goes with an online community. At first I really wanted to add everyone I knew, even if it dated back to junior high and we hadn’t spoken in 25 or more years.

I thought Facebook would be a great ministry tool to reach out to those whom I had a connection to, and share Jesus with them. However, more and more I am feeling like I need to protect my family, and their privacy. Last week I was in Tucson, going to a students play when a woman on the street stopped me and asked if she knew me. I did not recognize her, or her name. She on the other hand knew me from somewhere, possibly online or from my role at Alive Church. It kinda freaked me out a little. So I had to decide, who to keep and who to delete.

It was much easier than I had anticipated although it did take some time! I am not removing myself from online communities, rather I am being more careful what I put out there, and who can see it.

Leave a Reply

