2009 Rewind

31 Dec

2009 is over, time to usher in a New Year. Thinking back over the past year, so much has happened, I thought I would do a brief recap.

For the first 6 months of 2009 I was unemployed, not knowing to what, or where God would lead me. In March, at a conference at Saddleback Church,  I was challenged by a pastor friend Chris Reed, to get out of God’s way. Up until our conversation, I was trying to find any paying job locally, that would allow me to stay where I was. Comfortable in ministry. I was so focused on not leaving The Rock, a church where I was a volunteer youth pastor for 3 years, that I was not even considering the BIG picture.  Maybe God was calling me to something else, somewhere else? A scary thought, but I gave it to Him…wherever, whatever….Your will be done.
A few weeks after returning from the conference, I received a call from Josh Griffin, the high school pastor at Saddleback, about a potential position at the church. I was blown away that they would even be considering me! After a long interview weekend and waiting by the phone, I received word that I did not get the position. I wasn’t sure what to think, I was in the top 3 candidates. Why would God wave this in my face, only to have it not happen? My answer came a couple of months later, from Alive Church in Tucson. After a long interview process,  I was offered the position of youth pastor in July. What an awesome team, who’s mission is leading people who are far from God to be followers of Christ. I could not have asked for a better group of people to serve with. I was ordained on December 4th, exactly one year after I was laid off from my job with Cox Communications. God is awesome!

Our family has had some great times in 2009.

  • My wife and I celebrated our 12th year of marriage. 
  • Makena started junior high school. Where did the time go?! 
  • Tanner visited Disneyland for the first time.
  • Ryan and I went to a Christmas play on a date. So much fun!
  • Several trips to California to visit family. 
  • HarkinsDesigns has taken off, Amber was so busy this year as referral after referral came in. 
  • Was ordained in December

Excited to see what 2010 brings! Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

