All My Belongings- Week 4

26 Oct

Weekend Teaching Series: All My Belongings

Sermon Title: Belonging to Me

Sermon in a Sentence: Do we hide from God?

Bible Verses Used: Genesis 3:6-13, Galatians 3:1-4, Matthew 9:12-13, John 15:5, 2 Corinthians 5:21

Weekend Scale of Difficulty: 3 out of 10

Attendance: 46

Service Length: 60min

Understandable Message: We discussed how we have all acted or faked who we are with others. That we are not completely honest with everyone. There are people we call friend, or even family, that we don’t tell everything to. Understanding what a close friend is like was pretty universal. Having someone that you can tell anything to, hurts, fears, pains, sorrows, hopes and dreams. Someone who will accept us for who we are. For most of us, we create a false personality, we may act differently to different people in different places. Have you ever had to sit through your grand parents slide show of their recent trip? You had to pretend to be interested? Or been having a bad day, something is on your mind, and people, even friends or family ask,”What’s wrong?” Most of the time we say…”nothing”

The question is, do we do this with God? In our prayer life, are we completely honest with Him? Or do we ask for help with friends, family, that guy who told you with his hand you were #1 on the freeway…..but we aren’t honest about our struggles, short comings, worries, and sins. We compartmentalize our prayer life. Like Adam hiding from God in the garden, we hide things from God. But as it was with Adam, God sees everything. He already knows. He is waiting for you to ask for help, or to be honest with Him.

As a father there are times I let my kids struggle through somethings. I let them try to work it out on their own. It builds character, and self confidence. I could jump in every time I think they need help, but they would never grow. Sometimes, as a father, I wait until they ask. I wait until they come to me and say I can’t, I need your help.

God sometimes waits until we come to Him. Until we say I can’t, I need your help. He already knows everything you have gone through, and are going through. Give it to Him. Stop hiding. He wants to help, you just need to ask.

Grade: B+

Volunteer/Student Involvement: Jayne taught JHM and I taught HSM.

Element of Fun/Positive Environment: Some good conversations and story telling

Final Thought: Where in our life do we need to stop faking?

Leave a Reply

