Scarred- Week 1

22 Oct

Teaching Series: Scarred Week 1

Sermon Title: Hurt Happens

Sermon in a Sentence: What are the emotional scars that we carry?

Bible Verses Used: Jeremiah 8:19, John 16:33, Proverbs 13:17, 1 Peter 4:12, Hebrews 4:13

Scale of Difficulty: 9 out of 10 Emotionally this was a tough one. I had the kids anonymously write out their grade, gender, A scar, and how they dealt with it. Many, many of the scars the students had suffered broke my heart. Both physical and emotional scars. Some included: physical abuse, detached fathers, parents fighting, rape, divorce, abandonment, feeling alone. Some of the ways that the students wrote they deal with their scars: I cry, I pass on the pain to others, I detach myself from the world, I try to ignore it, I drink. These are just a few, but many of these are shared by more than one student.

Attendance: 32

Service Length: 90min

Understandable Message: Everyone has physical scars, and everyone has emotional scars too. Our physical scars heal quickly; some of our emotional scars can take a very, very long time. Students may be able to hide their scars from family, friends, and even youth leaders…but no scar goes unseen by God. Hebrews 4:13 He already knows your hurts, and you are not alone. When we are hurt, or left scarred, we need to risk the effort to deal with it so we can heal from it. I used a $20 bill as an example of how God sees our worth. I ask if anyone wanted it, of course all hands went up! Then I proceeded to crumple it, stomp on it, tear it a little, stain it…after each of these I asked “Do you still want it?” The idea is they still wanted it as its value had not changed. Even though we get crushed, stomped on, stained, and torn God still sees our full value. It doesn’t change how much He loves us and desires a relationship with us.

Next week we look at how we can deal with these scars…if you are a student 6-12th grade I invite you to come check it out. If you missed it this week, don’t miss next week!!


Grade: B

Volunteer/Student Involvement: Jeremy,Ryan and Daniel on the board, Jayne at check in and helped with games. Had quite a few students and leaders out sick…get well Roni and Laurie!

Element of Fun/Positive Environment: Played a game of Birds and Perches, good times. Next week we start a new format, the first 15min will be a hang time with friends, and we will be offering snacks at our snack bar!

Music Playlist: Music played on the iPod during the hang out time, no band tonight 😦

Favorite Moment: As difficult as it was to sit, read, and pray for the scars the students wrote down…It encourages me in that they are seeking some answers. I pray that God will use me to help our hurting students.

Leave a Reply

