James 2:1-4

12 Oct

James 2:1-4 Made me think, are we guilty for doing this in our youth groups sometimes? I substituted the words in red to be relevant to youth ministry, and how we may fall into this trap. Your red words may be different, these are what stood out to me.

1My fellow youth workers, as believers in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ, don’t show favoritism. 2Suppose a popular student comes into your meeting, and a unpopular student also comes in. 3If you show special attention to the popular student and say, “Here’s a good seat for you,” but say to the unpopular student, “You stand there” or “Sit on the floor by my feet,” 4have you not discriminated among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts?

I know in my own life I need to be careful not to show favoritism. Students that are regular attenders, staff members children, or popular with the crowd. I try to be aware if I am consciously or unconsciously picking the same students for games, or to help me make a point.

I wonder how many other leaders fall into this trap? Do we do this with our volunteers also? This scripture really drives home for me to be aware. It may not be “rich man” and “poor man”, it could be a number of things.

Leave a Reply

