Letter to Students- Bulls Eye Living Week 3

24 Aug

Greetings, my friends!

I have been looking forward to today for several weeks! My reason for this anticipation is because I knew I would be challenging you to write out a life mission statement. This statement will help you with BULLS EYE LIVING. It can be a daily reminder for you to live for God. That’s what BULLS EYE LIVING is, looking beyond the distractions and getting your focus on God as the center of your life.

When I was in high school, I wrote a life mission statement. I knew I wasn’t created to just breathe and die, but I was created for a purpose. I knew God had a plan, and I tried to discover it as God has revealed it. I wanted to give you a sample of my life’s mission statement to give you an idea of where to start. As you become closer to God and search his word (the Bible), you will find God revealing himself and his plan to you.

Here’s my life mission:

To love God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength (faith)
To not just talk the talk but walk the walk…not to be a poser (character)
To love my family and express it genuinely and playfully (family)*
To serve God faithfully by ministering to youth and those who don’t know Him (service)
To teach youth ministry principles to other churches and youth leaders (mission)
To express God’s love and compassion to others (relationships)*
To celebrate God’s ways with excitement & enthusiasm (attitude)*

I encourage you to spend some time thinking and praying about your life mission. Isn’t the rest of your life worth a little of your time right now? I think it is!

You matter to God! You have great value as His creation! You were created for a purpose! Please take some time to write a life mission. I would love to see it when you’ve finished. I would even love a copy of it so I could pray for you. It would be my privilege, and I would be so proud of you if I could pray for your life’s mission.

Make your life count by doing this today,

Chris Harkins

Leave a Reply

