Be Content

4 Jun

Philippians 4 11I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength.
When I look at this passage, I am starting to really understand what Paul was talking about. Through this 6 month season of not having a job, and being turned down over and over, God has provided for me and my family the whole time. Realizing that we may loose a house, or have to move, or take a job that will move me from one ministry into another. God has a plan, He is providing, and He will continue to provide. I am content in my situation. Content in the fact that I know He has a plan, that He is in control. He is my God, and through Him all things are possible!

2 Responses to “Be Content”

  1. yaegermiester June 5, 2009 at 2:17 AM #

    One of my great friends from college, Dave Kirkwood, has really lived this verse too. One summer Dave got bacterial menengitis. He was in the hospital for months. While he was there he had to have both legs amputated (one below the knee and one above the knee). He also had to have his left forearm amputated. There were struggles with God, but Dave has learned to be content with his situation. They said he wouldn't walk again… he did. He had to teach himself to write again… he was left-handed. He graduated from college, got his drivers lisence back, and got his pilot's lisence back. He also designed and built up the lightest wheelchair on the market and is working on expanding that business. He could have NEVER accomplished any of this without being content. He has also been able to use his situation to speak to small and large audiences. Dave is a great example of living out this verse. I feel the same way about you too, Chris. You could have made the decision to crawl in a hole and feel sorry for yourself, but you continue to put yourself out there on the job market and with the youth. And, I know that because you have found contentment, lives have been changed and souls have been saved. God is in control, He is working through you, and He does have a plan. Thanks for being content and letting God work through you! (sorry for being so long… just had to give my two cents)

  2. Pastor Chris June 5, 2009 at 12:18 PM #

    Wow Dave that is incredible!! Goes to show that there is always someone worse off than ourselves. Yet another reason to be content in our circumstances!

Leave a Reply

