Grounded from Youth Group?

11 May

This is something I have heard a few times now, and still don’t understand it. Students getting grounded from their small groups. Parents, why on earth would you ground your kid from attending their small group?! I know that some of you will say,”Because they really enjoy it, and I need to take something away that they enjoy.” But why take away a night they get to worship Jesus?!
I will probably offend some of you who read this, but take a moment to consider the following:

* Are there are other things that your child holds dear. (TV, video games, dessert, texting, talking on the phone, going out on the weekend, etc).

* Do you really want to keep them from worshiping and spending time learning about God?!

Matthew 19:14 Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

*Is it possible that it is less of a punishment for them, and more “free time” for you?

Think about this one, I know that we all have busy schedules, and sometimes the last thing we want to do is go out at the end of the day. Could it be that Satan is using your exhaustion, or busy schedule? “They don’t need to go tonight. You have had a long day. They don’t deserve to go tonight. Is it really a big deal if they miss this once?” See Satan does the same in our lives on Sunday morning.
This may come as a surprise to you, but there are days when I wake up and don’t “feel” like going to church and teaching your kids. Ok, let that one sink in for a moment…There are some Sunday mornings I don’t “feel” like getting up and teaching your kids. I love what I do, absolutely, but I hear those whispers too. It’s not about doing what you feel like, it’s about doing what is good and pleasing to Jesus.

Two questions to ask yourself:
1. What is most important to you in your life?
2. What is most important to
you in your childs life?

As a parent if there is one thing that I want more than anything for my child, is to know that they are walking with the Lord. Don’t get me wrong, I wish them health, happiness, to find the right person to marry etc. But the number one thing I want for their life, is a healthy relationship with Jesus that will last the rest of their lives. Really when you think about it, nothing else matters. Nothing is more important than their eternal salvation and their relationship with Jesus.

Matthew 6:19 Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.

Philippians 1:21 For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.

My goal as your youth pastor is to train and equip your students so that when they graduate from High School that they do not graduate from their faith. (6 out of 10 students disengage from their faith when they graduate from school.)

Proverbs 22:6 Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.

I need your help. Your child needs your help. Make church and their youth events a priority, not a reward. Parents are you in?

Leave a Reply

